Follow

Enabling Google Chrome (UIA) to save settings. - Clear sync tied to specific workstation

Product: ProfileUnity FlexApp

Product Version: 5.x

Expires on: 365 days from publish date

Updated: April 22, 2014

 

 

Problem:  When ProfileUnity captures Google Chrome user settings using folder redirection for Local Application data AND the user changes computers (non-persistent VDI); the user is unable to sync the Google Chrome settings, history and applications.

 

Cause:  Based on observations, the sync cache is tied to a specific workstation.  The cache must be deleted before the user is able to sync with Google.  Logging off of Google Chrome and back in will not work.

 

Resolutions:

 

Automated – Create Applauncher rules in ProfileUnity

 

Application Launcher Rule:

Rule 1

  • Filter: 
  • Filespec: cmd
  • Arguments: /C rd %userprofile%\"Profile-VHD\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default"  /s /q
  • Timing: After Configuration Execution
  • Hide Progress: False
  • Run Async: True
  • Schedule: Everyday
  • Day of the Week: Sunday
  • Day of the Month: 1
  • Specific Date:
  • Frequency: Every Logon

 

Rule 2 

  • Filter: 
  • Filespec: cmd
  • Arguments: /C rd %userprofile%\"Profile-VHD\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Profile 1"  /s /q
  • Timing: After Configuration Execution
  • Hide Progress: False
  • Run Async: True
  • Schedule: Everyday
  • Day of the Week: Sunday
  • Day of the Month: 1
  • Specific Date:
  • Frequency: Every Logon

 

Manual Process –

 

1.  Open Google Chrome

2.  Open Settings

3.  Under “Users”, Click “Delete this user”

4.  Now the user can Sign in to Chrome and their account will sync.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.